Places, Cities, and Towns

There are 81 provinces in the Philippines, divided into cities and municipalities.

The National Capial Region (NCR), called also Metro Manila, as well as independent cities are not under any province administration but self-governed. Each province is administered through an elected governor.

All the provinces are grouped into regions after geographical, cultural, and ethnological dispositions. Fourteen of these regions are numbered from north to south (I to IVX), additonal the National Capital Region, the Cordillera Administrative Region and the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

Cities and municipalities, known as highly urbanized or called independent component are self-governed even they are in a middle of one of the provinces.